Weekly Recap: July 4 – July 12

This week was a surprisingly long week. It feels like so much has happened, which is actually quite accurate… so here it goes! Fourth of July celebrations, Stop Oil Trains march and rally, and delicious Cuban brunch. Post-grad life has been full of surprises, challenges, and accomplishments. I think I deserve epic Sunday brunches more often.

July 4, 2015: May the Fourth Be With You

IMG_1719IMG_1721IMG_1713IMG_1741SubstandardFullSizeRender

It started off with July 4th, which I spent in Point Reyes with my dear cousins (attempting to have oysters at the oyster farm). We definitely arrived a bit too late, and it was completely crowded so we bought tons of oysters and found a park 10 minutes away to bbq at. It actually ended up being better than we expected because there weren’t a lot of people in the park, and it was a beautiful spot. After a long day of hanging out in the sun, eating, and daydrinking we came back and I spent the rest of my day with my parents, siblings and their families. We definitely had fun, hence the photo of me and my brother trying to be cool and standing back to back. It was a good day and night, spent with some of my favorite people. Honestly what can get better than spending your holidays with your family? Especially when your family knows how to get down and party, so yes, Sunday was in fact a pho breakfast kind of day.



Monday July 6, 2015 – Saturday July 11: National Week to Stop Oil Trains

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetThis week was the start of the National Week of Action to Stop Oil Trains in commemoration of the 2nd anniversary of the Quebec train disaster. If you don’t know about the disaster or about the week of action here’s a link showing all of the events that were planned! It’s terrifying that BAAQMD has given out this permit to allow these incredibly dangerous oil trains to come into the city and unload. Especially considering that Richmond already has such a history of environmental injustice, it is important that our communities come together to not simply fight back, but think of community-led alternatives to a safer and healthier neighborhood. My summer fellowship, in fact, is centered around this idea of a just transition. A move away from the harmful industries, and a transition into safe and healthy local-living economies. This week was an exciting week because of the national agenda to bring awareness to oil trains, and I feel honored to have been able to participate. Also, surprise– I was interviewed by the news (I know, how cool and terrifying is that?).



Sunday July 12, 2015: Brunch By All Means

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetAfter a long Saturday of attending the Stop Oil Trains March and Rally in Richmond, I hung out with good friends Kevin and Michael in Sunnyvale. Besides being bummed about having to drink lukewarm beer, it was great to wake up eating brunch. Note to self: Sunday brunch is going to be packed, prepare hours for parking and wait time. Otherwise, just choose wingstop and while you are walking over, run into the cutest little Cuban cafe ever. Either works. Kevin and I ran into the cutest little Cuban restaurant in Oakland called “Caña”. I chose the Platanos con Huevo and had cafê Cubano on the side. I was a happy breakfast eater today.

Published by

liesangsayciao

This is a little blog to show the small everyday moments in my life that make up who I am. I promise lots of posts about family and friends, favorite music, incredible food, and of course... my cat.

Leave a Reply

