FOOD FOR THE SOUL | BISSAP BAOBAB, OAKLAND CA

For my last day in the office of my fellowship, my fellow APEN staff members took me out for Senegalese food at this place near our office called Bissap Baobab. First off, I’d like to say that the name is fantastic and I quite enjoy saying it. On the next note, the food was so incredible! I’ve never had Senegalese food, but I’d have to say that I am definitely a fan. It really reminded me of Southeast Asian food with the peanut sauces, spicy chili paste, and coconut curry bases; those are definitely flavors that I love in Lao food. There is an option to do buffet style, which I did — although I definitely couldn’t fit anymore than one plate, however it was still great and I was able to try a lot of different things that way. I’m so glad I found this new spot, and if I’m ever in downtown Oakland I will definitely be coming back. Maybe at night, when there are yummy cocktails and music involved.

If you are interested, check out the yelp link here. Rated 4/5 stars, 85 reviews, and $$. I seriously recommend… really though.

Published by

liesangsayciao

This is a little blog to show the small everyday moments in my life that make up who I am. I promise lots of posts about family and friends, favorite music, incredible food, and of course... my cat.

Leave a Reply

